Tuition and Fees
This publication is for the purpose of providing information about the College and its programs. Announcements contained herein are subject to change without notice and may not be regarded in the nature of binding obligations on the College or State. Efforts will be made to keep changes to a minimum, but changes in policy by the North Carolina State Legislature, the Department of Community Colleges, or by local conditions may make some alterations necessary in curricula, fees, etc.
Payment methods: cash, check, VISA, MasterCard, Discover Card, American Express, Financial Aid or 3rd party sponsorship.
All forms of payment must be received by the Business Office to be officially registered.
Tuition and Fees – 2018 & 2019
Tuition is established by the North Carolina State Legislature and is subject to change without prior notification.
Professional Liability Insurance (Health Science Students): $15.00 per school year
Full Time Load: 12 Credit Hours
3/4 Time Load: 9 Credit Hours
1/2 Time Load: 6 Credit Hours
If tuition is a major factor in the student’s determination to attend CFCC, please contact the Director of Financial Aid as soon as possible.
All tuition and fee charges are due and payable on the day of registration. Any deferred payments or exceptions to rules on financial affairs must be approved by the Chief Fiscal Officer.
Self-supporting classes are not free for any student.
Any outstanding balances (unpaid fines, tuition, etc.) must be paid in full prior to registering for a new session. Library fines should be paid in the Learning Resource Center (cash only), and all other balances should be paid in the College’s business office in the administration building.
Payments can be made by cash, check, Master Card, Visa, Discover, American Express, financial aid, or 3rd party sponsorship. All forms of payment must be received by the Business Office to be officially registered.
Tuition Payment Plan
Cape Fear Community College now offers a convenient monthly Tuition Payment Plan.
A pre-registered curriculum student who cancels from any/or all classes prior to the first day of the College’s academic semester will be eligible for a 100 percent tuition refund. Students may continue to drop and add classes through the Final Adjustment Day and still receive 100 percent tuition refund. (See the Academic Calendar)
After classes begin a student must “drop” from class(es). A drop card need to be filled out and signed by the student at the Registrar’s Office. (A-220 Downtown or NA-100 at the North Campus). A 75 percent refund will be made if the student drops during the period starting from the first day of classes and ending on the 10% day of the academic session.(Also referred to as the census date).
After the drop period, (after the 10% day of the academic session) a student must withdraw from a class. Withdrawals require the instructor’s signature. A student is not officially withdrawn until they process a formal withdrawal form with the Registrar’s office. The effective date of withdrawal is the day the Registrar’s office receives the form. Withdrawal forms must be obtained from Student Services and currently are not available online. Check the Academic Calendar for exact dates to withdraw, withdraw passing or withdraw failing.
Refunds are issued four to six weeks after the semester begins.
Effective July 1, 2009, a $25 returned check processing fee will be charged for a paper check or e-check for which payment was refused by the payer’s bank for any reason. The value of the returned check plus the $25 fee must be paid to the College immediately upon being notified by CFCC. Failure to do so will be followed by legal collection proceedings.
When a North Carolina employer, other than the armed services, pays tuition for an employee to attend a community college, and when the employee works at a North Carolina business location, the employer shall be charged the in-state tuition rate. Submit the Company Sponsorship form with required documents. The form and documents must be submitted and approved prior to the first day of classes.