Cape Fear Memorial Foundation Grant helps make improvements to CFCC’s nursing progras

A $60,000 grant received from the Cape Fear Memorial Foundation in the fall of 2013 is greatly benefiting Cape Fear Community College’s nursing programs. The grant was used to help fund the salary of a Simulation Hospital/Lab Coordinator, a position that serves both the Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) and Practical Nursing (PN) programs.
Having one of the largest nursing programs in the NC Community College System, CFCC’s ADN and PN programs currently rotate 205 students through meaningful simulation experiences, utilizing the new nursing lab expansion in the Union Station building. With the addition
of a dedicated simulation coordinator, CFCC’s nursing programs now have the ability to maintain open lab hours as well as structured clinical practice environments to assist students in overcoming deficits.
“The ability to use our simulated hospital as a clinical site will assist in graduating a greater number of nurses to serve the community and enhance the comfort level and expertise of these nurses. Without a qualified faculty member to run the simulation equipment and simulated
hospital unit, this additional clinical space could not be used to its full potential,” said Brenda Holland, ADN program director.
This nursing faculty member is the primary operator and scheduler of all lab and simulated clinical experiences in the simulated hospital unit. The simulation coordinator is responsible for developing and running simulated clinical experiences, scheduling open lab time, coordinating remediation activities, and maintaining up-to-date operational equipment. The position also requires training faculty and students on the correct use of equipment as well as evaluation methods and procedures.
Cape Fear Memorial Foundation is a private, non-operating foundation located in Wilmington, North Carolina. Its primary purpose is to serve the health and medical needs of the people of Southeastern North Carolina. It supports charitable not-for-profit organizations providing health and medical services and health education.
The Cape Fear Community College Foundation exists solely to support the students, teachers, programs and mission of Cape Fear Community College. The Foundation secures and manages gifts and grants, including cash contributions, deferred gifts, securities, donated services, and equipment and supplies for educational purposes.  For more information about CFCC, The CFCC Foundation or scholarship opportunities, contact the Cape Fear Community College Foundation at 910.362.7207 or visit

Class of 2014 True Blue Fund

true blue JPG

Graduating seniors: As you prepare to leave Cape Fear for your next adventure, consider also leaving a legacy.

Give a gift of at least $20.14 to the Class of 2014 True Blue Fund and receive a special blue ribbon to wear at your commencement ceremony. You will also receive free membership in the CFCC alumni association so you can stay connected to Cape Fear long after you graduate. In addition, you will be recognized on the CFCC website as a campaign donor.

Your gift will leave a legacy for future CFCC students by providing scholarship support and helping academic programs meet crucial needs. Together, the Class of 2014 will make a significant, indelible impact.

To make your gift now, click on the link below. Make to indicate in the comments section that you are donating to the “Class of 2014 True Blue” Fund.



 A message from your 2014 campaign chairs: 


Yoel Del Rio, Vice President, CFCC Student Government Association; Billy Koch, President, Phi Theta Kappa; Destinee Masi, CFCC Student Ambassador.

This April and May, we are teaming up to help raise money with our graduating class of 2014 that will go towards programs and scholarships to benefit future CFCC students! As many of you know, graduation is quickly approaching. Like us, many of you are extremely grateful for the opportunities that Cape Fear has given you.

Please join us in contributing $20.14 to the CFCC Class of 2014 True Blue Fund by clicking on the link above. Along with supporting future CFCC students, you will receive a special blue ribbon to wear at commencement. You will also receive free membership in the CFCC alumni association so you can stay connected to Cape Fear long after you graduate. But most of all, your gift will leave a legacy for the next generation of Cape Fear students by providing your generous support and helping academic programs meet crucial needs. Together, the Class of 2014 will make a huge difference in the lives of students just like us!

How a Bequest in Your Will Can Impact CFCC Students for Generations to Come

No one really likes to think about writing a will, but it can also be a wonderful time of reflection and recognition. When you write your will, you acknowledge the people and institutions that mean the most to you. Including Cape Fear Community College among the beneficiaries of your will indicates your belief in the power of providing affordable education that can change lives. You already believe that the gift of education can provide hope, opportunity and jobs to local residents, and a bequest in your will can do this for generations of students to come.

A bequest in your will is also the easiest major gift you can make. Why?