Posted by in Pressroom
Comments Off on CFCC awards ten merit scholarships to local students

The Cape Fear Community College Foundation recently awarded merit scholarships to ten local students who will begin their first year of college at CFCC later this month.

The recipients demonstrated academic excellence and leadership in their high school careers. Academic performance, extracurricular activities and community service were all considered in the selection process.

The 2013 CFCC Merit Scholars are Jason Clemmer from Ashley High School; Eliza Belew and Kailey Mathews from E.A. Laney High School; Lesley Bey, Emily Bey and Cala Rowell from New Hanover High School; Alyssa Minkler and Maria Mora from Heide Trask High School; Diana Capra from Pathways Middle and High School; and Maggie Parrish from Wilmington Christian Academy.

Each student received $900 toward their first semester at CFCC, and will receive an additional $900 for the spring semester if they maintain a 3.0 GPA while completing 12 credit hours this fall.

The Merit Scholars will also benefit from support provided by the CFCC Foundation Board. “These students will be able to meet and interact with several members of our Board of Directors. They’ll learn from the wealth of experience and guidance of these board members, who are excited to be able to interact with students on a more personal level, said Dana McKoy, Director of Annual Giving at CFCC.

Ten merit scholarships are awarded each year.  To be considered, a student must be a current high school senior within New Hanover or Pender County and must have applied or been approved to enroll at Cape Fear Community College.  For more information, please visit

merit scholars 2013

photo (L-R):  Lesley Bey, Emily Bey, Eliza Belew, Cala Rowell, Maggie Parrish, Alyssa Minkler, Maria Mora, Kailey Mathews, Diana Capra (not pictured:  Jason Clemmer)

Empower students.
Provide hope in our community.

Other News


CFCC Campus Fund: It’s Worth the Investment