Excellence in Teaching Award

Denise Hightower (middle) was the 2013 awardee of the Marilyn Goodman Anderson Excellence in Teaching Award.

Denise Hightower (middle) was the 2013 awardee of the Marilyn Goodman Anderson Excellence in Teaching Award. Kay Warren (left) and Melissa Watson (right) were the 2013 recipients of the President’s Award for Outstanding Service to the College.

The Marilyn Goodman Anderson Endowed Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member at CFCC.  This prestigious award recognizes all aspects of excellence in teaching that foster students’ lifelong learning and success.

Nominees must be current faculty members who have taught at least three years at CFCC.  Nominees may be part-time or full-time, and instructors in all departments of the College are eligible for the recognition.  The recipient of the award will be recognized at CFCC’s August In-Service.  The recipient will receive a medallion to wear at official ceremonies and a one-time stipend of $2,000.

Nominations for the Marilyn Goodman Award have closed for 2014. Stay tuned for an announcement about the recipient in August!

Criteria for Nomination and Selection

The following aspects of teaching at Cape Fear Community College should be considered in the nomination and selection process:

  • Significant, positive impact on students lives.
  • Teaching philosophy.
  • Mastery of subject.
  • Student perceptions of teaching.

Supporting Materials

Nominees who choose to be considered must submit a portfolio of their material for review by the selection committee.  The portfolio should encompass material relevant to the Criteria for Nomination and Selection.  To facilitate the review process, the material must be presented in the following order and include:

  • A copy of the nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae.
  • A written statement of teaching philosophy and methodology in the classroom.
  • A copy of one representative syllabus and other relevant course material.
  • An official summary of student ratings of courses that have been evaluated over the previous two years.  This should be submitted to the Foundation from a nominee’s respective department chair.
  • Materials supporting classroom effectiveness.

If you have any questions, please call the Foundation Office at 910.362.7207.  Thank you.

Congratulations to previous Marilyn Goodman Anderson Award for Excellence in Teaching recipients!

  • Denise Hightower, Medical Office Administration Instructor, 2013
  • Stacey Tatum, Spanish Instructor, 2012
  • Phil “Dr. Rocks” Garwood, Geology Instructor, 2011
  • Jerry Duncan, Criminal Justice, 2010
  • Steve Beuth, Marine Technology, 2009
  • Joy Smoots, Biology Instructor, 2008
  • Jenna Call, English Instructor, 2007
  • Ben Billingsley, Art Instructor, 2006
  • David Fourqurean, Philosophy and Religion Instructor, 2005
  • Robert Sutton, Philosophy and Religion Instructor, 2004
  • Karen Brown, Communication Instructor, 2003
  • Cheryl Saba, English Instructor, 2002

Empower students.
Provide hope in our community.


CFCC Campus Fund: It’s Worth the Investment