CFCC Cosmetology Students Win Top Awards

CFCC Cosmetology Students Win Top Awards at S.C. Competition

WILMINGTON - Some Cape Fear Community College cosmetology students recently earned top awards at the Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals (ACSP) competition on March 29 in Myrtle Beach, S.C. 

Awards were given for a variety of hair styling, makeup and manicuring categories. CFCC also earned first place in the school team of the year category. This is the first time that the School Team of The Year trophy has been awarded to a school outside of South Carolina.

“We are so proud of our students because of the professionalism and talent that they showed while in Myrtle Beach. We want to thank the Cape Fear Community College Foundation Board of Directors for the grant that allowed the Cosmetology School to attend,” said Mary Brown lead instructor of CFCC’s cosmetology program.

The list of winners are as follows:

Brittany Couch – 1st place in Female Hair Shaping

Brittany Couch – 3rd place in Female Daytime Blow-Dry

Christina Lewis – 3rd place in Fantasy Hair

Tia Howard – 1st place Bridal Gala

Terisha Batson – 2nd place Bridal Gala

Brandy Pearce – 3rd place Bridal Gala

Courtney Dale – 3rd place Fantasy Nails

Katie Lewis – 1st place Ladies Avant Garde

Tasha Gray, Phylicia Lewis, Demetria Butler – 1st place School Team of The Year

Micah Murphy, Elizabeth Hinkle, Brandy Pearce – 3rd place School Team of The Year