Ten Local High School Graduates Earn Merit Scholarships at Cape Fear Community College


Ten local high school students received full tuition merit scholarships for the 2009-10 academic year at Cape Fear Community College.  Known as “Merit Scholars”, the students are selected from area high schools each year. They are chosen for their academic excellence, leadership ability and involvement in school activities, work record and community service.

Merit scholarship recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA and complete twelve credit hours during the fall semester to continue the scholarship for the spring semester.  Each student receives $900 per semester scholarship ($1800/year), which will cover a large part of costs for tuition, fees and books.  This year’s recipients are 2009 graduates from Topsail, New Hanover, Ashley, Laney, Heide Trask and Hoggard high schools.

Members on the CFCC Foundation Board of Directors reviewed thirty-seven applications to choose the ten recipients.  Merit Scholarship Committee Chair Sara Strassle said, “We have a strong group of Merit Scholars this year and hope to provide mentoring as well as financial support for their academic year.  The selection process was tough because so many talented students applied.  Those selected students represent a wide variety of scholarly and vocational interests and have demonstrated success both personally and academically in their high school years.”

CFCC’s 2009-10 Merit Scholars include:

Taryn Hack, Hampstead, NC

Amanda Jones, Wilmington, NC

Corbin Keene, Wilmington, NC

Miranda Kennedy, Castle Hayne, NC

Joseph Sigman, Wilmington, NC

Kelly Spraker, Rocky Point, NC

Carissa Thomas, Wrightsville Beach, NC

Naomi Tucci, Wilmington, NC

Jacquelyn Yow, Castle Hayne, NC

Araceli Zarate, Wilmington, NC

The CFCC Foundation supports the people, programs, and mission of the college by securing and managing gifts that include cash contributions used for endowments and scholarships and other contributions aimed at helping the college meet its goals.