Liberal arts scholarship awarded to two CFCC students

The Cape Fear Community College Social and Behavioral Sciences Department is pleased to announce that Lakita Robinson and Erin Smith were awarded the Sidney Stern Scholarship for Spring 2010.  This scholarship is designed for students who demonstrate an interest in the total liberal arts experience.

According to Kay Warren, assistant director of the CFCC Foundation, Inc., the Sidney J. Stern Jr. Memorial Scholarship was established to help CFCC students in the social sciences area who “love to learn.”  Students are required to have at least 3.0 GPA.  Recipients should exhibit a genuine interest in the study of ideas and people and demonstrate a commitment to the community or concern for others in community.  

Stern scholarship 

 The scholarship selection committee was made up of members of CFCC’s Social and Behavioral Sciences Department. Each scholarship is worth $1325.

For anyone interested in establishing scholarship support for CFCC students please call Kay Warren in the CFCC Foundation at 362-7331.