CFCC Awards Ten Merit Scholarships to Local High School Students

Cape Fear Community College awarded ten merit scholarships to worthy New Hanover and Pender County high school seniors for the 2011-12 academic year. The recipients of the CFCC Merit Scholarship have demonstrated academic excellence and leadership throughout their high school career.

To be selected for a Merit Scholarship, a student must be a current high school senior within New Hanover or Pender County and must have applied or been approved to enroll in Cape Fear Community College. A student must have proof of academic potential shown by high school grades, class rank, and/or aptitude test results. Involvement in extracurricular activities, community service and work are also a consideration for a recipient. This award proves that a student can excel in a college setting as they begin to pursue their educational goals.

The recipients this year are Sam Hasse, Leslie Ortego, Emily Painter, Mary Thomas, and Trevor Todd from Topsail High School, Jessy Harrell and John Lewis who attended Laney High School, Margaret (Megan) Knoerzer from Pender High School, Sarah Nelson who graduated from Ashley High School, and Victoria Warren from New Hanover High School.

Merit Scholars benefit from extra support provided by the CFCC Foundation Board and meet several times throughout the semester to track each student’s progress. Recipient Knoerzer stated, “I was a little scared to start that first semester, but being a part of the Merit Scholars group made me feel like I was really connected and already a part of something big on campus. I am also loving my experience of playing on the volleyball team.”

Merit Scholars receive $900 each semester, which covers most of the costs for tuition, fees, and books. Each student must maintain a 3.0 grade point average and complete twelve credit hours during the fall semester to stay eligible for the spring semester.