CFCC’s Rice to receive prestigious Phi Theta Kappa Award

CFCC Vice President of Business and Institutional Services Camellia Rice

Cape Fear Community College is pleased to announce that vice president of business and institutional services Camellia Rice was recently selected as a recipient of the Distinguished College Administrator Award for 2013 by Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the largest honor society for two-year colleges.

Only 25 college administrators nationwide are selected for this international distinction from Phi Theta Kappa.

Rice was unanimously chosen by the student officers of CFCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter for her commitment to the success of all students at CFCC.

PTK Chapter President Christopher Kennedy stated that because of Rice’s support, CFCC’s PTK chapter has become one of the best in the nation.

“Year after year, Mrs. Rice has worked to secure funds to allow our chapter to attend both regional and international conventions to gain leadership skills and allows us the opportunity for fellowship with other chapters. Her actions have directly resulted in our chapter maintaining a coveted Five-Star Chapter status,” Kennedy said.

Rice said that she was deeply honored to be selected for the award and will be proud to receive the honor on behalf of the college.

Rice has worked at CFCC for 20 years and has served over 38 years in the N.C. Community College System. Rice will officially receive the award at Phi Theta Kappa’s 95th Annual Convention on April 5, 2013, in San Jose, California. In addition, Rice will be featured on the Phi Theta Kappa website and in several Phi Theta Kappa publications.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.