Cape Fear Community College Students Recognized During N.C. Community College Excellence in Education Month

April 18th, 2016 by admin

Governor Pat McCrory proclaimed April “North Carolina Community College Excellence in Education Month.” Students from all 58 community colleges received awards for academic excellence and exemplary leadership. Megan Lambert, a CFCC Student Ambassador and President of CFCC’s Alpha Chi Sigma Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honors Society, was the award recipient from CFCC.

“Students seek out our community colleges because the education and skills they acquire lead to opportunity – for a career, for further education and ultimately to get them that much closer to reaching their goals,” said NC Community College System Interim President George Fouts.  “This is a true celebration of community college excellence and the successes that happen every day on our campuses.”

As part of the celebration, CFCC recognized students at its annual Student Recognition Ceremony held earlier this month. The following students were recognized:

Malik Allen
Dave Aman
Amber Annab
Joshua Armstrong
Katie Armstrong
Danilo Artiga
Carey Avant
Douglas Bai
Morgan Bell
Lesley Bey
Jessica Biel
Marissa Blackman
Abigail Bradley
Caitlin Breuninger
Brandon Carr
David Cruz
Karly Dahlin
Ian Drometer
John T. Emerson
Tyler Evans
Anthony Floyd
William Gates
Peter Gilman-Bryan
Marcus Green
Leteshe Hamilton
Mark Hardy
Savanah Haug
Brittany Haynes
Keila Henry
Kayla Herring
Caroline Horne
Emily Hughes
Jacob Ingle
Ann Jackson
Christina Keith
Cathy Kelly
Kristin Kendall
Luke Kolk
Jennifer Kozlof
Megan Lambert
Megan Laughinghouse
Miranda Lawrence
Sandra Maciolka
Amber Major
Patti Malette
Brittany Marlow
Ashley McDermon
Gregory Midgett
Heidi Milliken
Nathan Myrick
Alejandro Nava
Jessica Newcomb
Janerfer Oliver
Thomas Owen
Lauren Pine
Blaine Pugh
Katie Ray
Luke Roberts
Lucas Salguero
Stephanie Santiago
Madaline Schulz
Narges Shafiee Shakib
Wanda Stumpf
Jodie Taylor
Bennett Todd
Anna Vancina
Deborah Williams
Quamiesha Williams
Andrew Wishon
Relynne Wolf

In addition to the awards ceremony, CFCC also held a reception to celebrate its annual literary and arts magazine, Portals, and to announce the award winners included in this year’s publication. The following students and faculty member were honored:

Transom Award–Best Overall:  Matthew Maffei

Poetry Award:  Victoria Drake

Fiction Award: Lindsay Haney

Non-fiction Award: Stephen Roark

Art Award: Jahns Chavez

Faculty Award: Lesley Richardson