Jessica Gaffney









Jessica Gaffney, Program Chair of Theater, earned her Master of Fine Arts in costume and scenery design at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts and earned her Bachelor of Arts in Theatre at the University at Albany.   Ms. Gaffney’s Off Broadway costume design credits include: Our Dad is in Atlantis written by Javier Malipica, The Secret Agenda of Trees written by Colin McKenna and Nilaja Sun’s No Child.  Other NY costume design credits include:  The Internationalist directed by Ken Rus Schmoll produced by 13P and the Fairfield Theatre Company; Wet directed by Kent Nicholsen produced by the Summer Play Festival; Crumble directed by Katie Pearl produced by Clubbed Thumb; and Boococks House of Baseball directed by Mary Kate Burke produced by The Flea. Ms. Gaffney was an affiliated artist with Push Productions in New York City and has designed costumes for many of their productions including: The Kracken, Shannon in Ambient Light and Marat/Sade all directed by Michael Kimmel.  Ms. Gaffney’s design work has been seen at the following Regional Theatres: ART, Woolly Mammoth, Lookingglass, Berkeley Rep, Center Theatre Group, Long Wharf Theatre, Mill Mountain Theatre, American Shakespeare Center and Actors Theatre of Phoenix and internationally at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.  Ms. Gaffney is currently  the Resident Costume Designer for the Alchemical Theatre of Wilmington.  She has served as Guest Costume Designer for the following University Theatre Departments:  Duke University, UNC Wilmington, University of Rochester, Baruch College, Desalles University and Marymount College of Fordham University.  Additionally Ms. Gaffney has designed costumes and scenery for several award winning film projects serving as production designer and costume designer for the short film Song of a Fifth Grade Samurai and serving as costume designer for the short film Agatha both films were screened as part of the 2015 Cucalorus Film Festival.   Ms. Gaffney is a member of the Southeastern Theatre Conference, presenting each year at their annual conference and sits on the committee for the Marion A. Smith Scholarship.