Class of 2020, 2021, and 2022 high school grads, your first two years at CFCC can be FREE! FIND OUT HOW
Home / Foundation / Excellence in Teaching Award

Excellence in Teaching Award

Yuna Shin

German Instructor Yuna Shin, winner of the Marilyn Goodman Anderson Excellence in Teaching Award for 2021.

The Marilyn Goodman Anderson Endowed Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member at CFCC. This prestigious award recognizes all aspects of excellence in teaching that foster students’ lifelong learning and success.

Nominees must be current faculty members who have taught at least three years at CFCC. Nominees may be part-time or full-time curriculum instructors in all departments of the College are eligible for the recognition. Nominations are accepted in the spring semester, and the recipient of MGA award is announced each year at CFCC’s August In-Service. The recipient will receive a medallion to wear at official ceremonies and a one-time stipend of $2,000.

Only students are allowed to nominate for the Marilyn Goodman Anderson Award, and all nominators’ names shall be kept confidential.

Before you submit your nomination, please review the Award Criteria below:

This award recognizes excellence in teaching and teaching-related activities that foster students’ desires for lifetime learning and success.

The following teaching qualities shall be considered:

  • Significant, positive impact on students’ lives
  • Teaching philosophy
  • Mastery of subject
  • Student perceptions of teaching effectiveness and impact


  • March 15: Nominations Due.
  • April 27: Instructor Portfolios Due
  • August: Award winner announced at CFCC In-Service
MGA nominations are currently closed.

Criteria for Nomination and Selection

The final selection for the Marilyn Goodman Anderson Award will be determined by a committee composed of the President’s designee, the President of the Faculty Association, the President of the CFCC Student Government Association, and the past two winners of the MGA Award. The committee will take into consideration the following eligibility criteria:

  • Must be a full or part-time curriculum instructor
  • Must have taught at least three years at CFCC at the time of award
  • Must teach at least four classes within the year nominated that are any combination of the following: Traditional, Blended, Hybrid, Hyflex, or Online Synchronous
  • Must not have previously won the Marilyn Goodman Anderson award

Supporting Materials

Nominees who choose to be considered must submit a portfolio of their material for review by the selection committee.  The portfolio should encompass material relevant to the Criteria for Nomination and Selection.  To facilitate the review process, the material must be presented in the following order and include:

  • A one-page copy of the nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae
  • A maximum of one-page personal narrative discussing teaching philosophy and methodology, etc
  • No more than three letters that speak to teaching excellence from students, faculty or staff
  • Syllabi or other relevant materials that demonstrate classroom effectiveness can be submitted
  • Department chairs must submit student evaluations for each nominee from the last three years.  Nominees are responsible for requesting the evaluations

If you have any questions, please call the Foundation Office at 910-362-7207 .

Congratulations to previous Marilyn Goodman Anderson Award for Excellence in Teaching recipients!

  • Yuna Shin, German Instructor, 2021
  • Holly Walters, Biology Instructor, 2020
  • Rebecca Berger, Radiography Instructor, 2019
  • Peggy Lupton, Music Instructor, 2018
  • Jacqui Degan, Marine Technology, 2017
  • Laura Taylor, Mathematics Instructor, 2016
  • Bethaney Ferguson, Sociology Instructor, 2015
  • Bridget Floyd, English Instructor, 2014
  • Denise Hightower, Medical Office Administration Instructor, 2013
  • Stacey Tatum, Spanish Instructor, 2012
  • Phil “Dr. Rocks” Garwood, Geology Instructor, 2011
  • Jerry Duncan, Criminal Justice, 2010
  • Steve Beuth, Marine Technology, 2009
  • Joy Smoots, Biology Instructor, 2008
  • Jenna Call, English Instructor, 2007
  • Ben Billingsley, Art Instructor, 2006
  • David Fourqurean, Philosophy and Religion Instructor, 2005
  • Robert Sutton, Philosophy and Religion Instructor, 2004
  • Karen Brown, Communication Instructor, 2003
  • Cheryl Saba, English Instructor, 2002
Translate »